Kansas Release Long Awaited New Album



“The Absence of Presence will be the next album offering from prog rock veterans Kansas, who have been more present than absent in recent years.”

 – Billboard

“Longtime, hardcore fans will roar with approval at the precise musicianship, contemplative lyrics, soaring vocals with tight harmonies, intricate arrangements, memorable riffs, complex changes, and majestic musical passages in the album’s nine songs.”

American Songwriter

JULY 17, 2020KANSAS, America’s legendary progressive rock band, has released their long awaited new studio album “The Absence of Presence” today through Inside Out Music. Fans can now purchase and stream the album at https://kansas.lnk.to/TheAbsenceofPresence.

The album is also available at Walmart, Barnes & Noble, and Independent Record Stores. Find a Walmart near you that is carrying the album at https://kansas-absenceofpresence.webflow.io/

The album has been widely praised for its musicianship and dedication to classic KANSAS sound. From Billboard to American Songwriter, critics have called it one of the best albums in the KANSAS catalogue.

Previous to the album’s release, the band released songs and music videos for the singles “Memories Down the Line”, “Jets Overhead”, and “Throwing Mountains”.

We are really excited for our fans to be able to finally be able to hear ‘The Absence of Presence in full,’” says KANSAS lead vocalist Ronnie Platt. “I think people will really be surprised by the album. ‘The Absence of Presence’ shows the band firing on all cylinders.”

Billboard.com first announced the new album during an exclusive interview with KANSAS drummer and “The Absence of Presence” co-producer Phil Ehart: http://bit.ly/KansasBillboardTAoP.

“The Absence of Presence” follows-up 2016’s “The Prelude Implicit,” which debuted at #14 on Billboard’s Top 200 Albums chart. KANSAS has sold more than 30 million albums worldwide, and is famous for classic hits such as ‘Carry On Wayward Son’ and ‘Dust in the Wind’ to the progressive epic ‘Song for America.’

“The Absence of Presence,” released by Inside Out Music, features nine all new tracks written by the band, produced by Zak Rizvi, and co-produced by Phil Ehart and Richard Williams. KANSAS’s signature sound is unmistakable throughout. The album showcases Ronnie Platt’s towering vocals, David Ragsdale’s searing violin, Tom Brislin’s dazzling keyboards, Williams and Rizvi’s electrifying guitar riffs, Ehart’s powerful drums, and Billy Greer’s rocking bass.

The album is available on CD, Double LP 180 Gram Vinyl, Limited Edition Deluxe CD + 5.1 Blu-Ray Artbook, and digitally on iTunes, Google Play, Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon Music, and all other streaming services. To stream or purchase, please visit: https://kansas.lnk.to/TheAbsenceofPresence

“The Absence of Presence” Track Listing:

  • The Absence of Presence
  • Throwing Mountains
  • Jets Overhead
  • Propulsion 1
  • Memories Down the Line
  • Circus of Illusion
  • Animals on the Roof
  • Never
  • The Song the River Sang

In the interest of rapidly developing public health concerns and warnings due to the Coronavirus, recent KANSAS tour dates are postponed and being rescheduled. For more information on your specific date, visit: https://bit.ly/2zFSVRf


Press Contact
Natalie Schaffer | Big Picture Media
195 Broadway, Suite 341. Brooklyn NY 11211
Office: 212-675-3103 | [email protected]